2019 PDC World Cup of Darts

2019 PDC World Cup of Darts, Players, Seeds and Format.

The 2019 PDC World Cup of darts is nearly upon us. Thirty-two countries will compete in a straight knockout content to be crown World Cup team champions.

Defending Champions, the Netherlands will be hoping to make it a hat-trick of victories. However, they will be missing the five-time World Champion Raymond van Barneveld.

The countries two-player teams are selected by order of merit/ranking. Raymond in recent months has slipped down the order of merit table; hence this year his place will be taken by Jermaine Wattimena. The Netherlands hasn’t drifted far from the top being favourites. However, they are now seeded four in the group of thirty-two nations. Despite their lower seedings the Netherland’s will still be hard to beat will the world no.1 Michael van Gerwen taking their lead.

Wayne Mardle believes it will be Scotland’s year. Gary Anderson and Peter Wright make up the Scottish team, and their combined ranking places them in a firm No.2 seed position. Wayne as many fans know like to play online games and poker, and he isn’t usually far away when it comes to being one of the best pundits in the sport of darts. If you also like playing online games like Wayne, the have a look at starburst where you can play hundreds of different cash prize games.

World Cup of Darts Format

One thing to note, the 2019 PDC World Cup of Darts format has changed from previous years. Before this event, the 32 teams were placed into eight groups of four for a first round, ‘round robin’ phase with the top two teams progressing to the knockout stages. This year this format has been abandoned, and the contest is just a straight knockout hence fewer matches and probably less 180s! However, this shouldn’t detract from the drama and tension the World Cup of darts brings as there are always upsets and a double miss could just cost the county a match.

Paul LimTeams, Players and Seeded Countries.

Although the round robin phase has gone, eight of the thirty-two teams are seeded. England top the seeds with former World Champion Rob Cross and the 2019 World Champion Runner-up Michael Smith. Their first round opponents will be the Philippines.

The oldest player in the contest s Paul Lim he will be playing for Singapore

Lim has always been a crowd pleaser and is still the only player ever to hit a perfect nine-dart leg in the BDO World Championship a feat he achieved in the second round of the 1990 World Professional Darts Championship. The support is likely to be for all Countries in particular for the underdogs. Singapore faces Wales in the first round, and although this might be a difficult match for them to win, with Lim’s experience, they could pull off a shock.

Team Players

(Seed 1) England - Rob Cross & Michael Smith
(Seed 2) Scotland - Gary Anderson & Peter Wright
(Seed 3) Wales - Gerwyn Price & Jonny Clayton
(Seed 4) Netherlands - Michael van Gerwen & Jermaine Wattimena
(Seed 5) Australia - Simon Whitlock & Kyle Anderson
(Seed 6) Northern Ireland - Daryl Gurney & Brendan Dolan
(Seed 7) Belgium - Kim Huybrechts & Dimitri Van den Bergh
(Seed 8) Austria - Mensur Suljovic & Zoran Lerchbacher
Brazil - Diogo Portela & Artur Valle
Canada - Dawson Murschell & Jim Long
China - Xiaochen Zong & Qingyu Zhan
Czech Republic - Pavel Jirkal & Karel Sedlacek
Denmark - Per Laursen & Niels Heinsøe
Finland - Marko Kantele & Kim Viljanen
Germany - Max Hopp & Martin Schindler
Gibraltar - Dyson Parody & Antony Lopez
Greece - John Michael & Veniamin Symeonidis
Hong Kong - Royden Lam & Kai Fan Leung
Hungary - Pal Szekely & Janos Vegso
Italy - Andrea Micheletti & Stefano Tomassetti
Japan - Seigo Asada & Haruki Muramatsu
Lithuania - Darius Labanauskas & Mindaugas Barauskas
New Zealand - Cody Harris & Haupai Puha
Philippines - Lourence Ilagan & Noel Malicdem
Poland - Krzysztof Ratajski & Tytus Kanik
Republic of Ireland - Steve Lennon & William O'Connor
Russia - Boris Koltsov & Aleksey Kadochnikov
Singapore - Paul Lim & Harith Lim
South Africa - Devon Petersen & Vernon Bouwers
Spain - Cristo Reyes & Toni Alcinas
Sweden - Dennis Nilsson & Magnus Caris
USA - Darin Young & Chuck Puleo

2019 World Cup of Darts first Round Draw

Thursday 6th June (7pm local time)

Gibraltar v Japan
Northern Ireland (6) v South Africa
New Zealand v Lithuania
Belgium (7) v Hong Kong
Brazil v Sweden
Wales (3) v Singapore
Hungary v Germany
Scotland (2) v Denmark

Friday 7th June (7pm local time)

China v USA
Italy v Canada
Poland v Czech Republic
Republic of Ireland v Greece
England (1) v Philippines
Austria (8) v Russia
Australia (5) v Finland
Netherlands (4) v Spain

World Cup of Darts Winners

Year Winner Points   Points Runners-up
2018 Netherlands 3 - 1 Scotland
2017 Netherlands 3 - 1 Wales
2016 England 3 - 2 Netherlands
2015 England 3 - 2 Scotland
2014 Netherlands 3 - 0 England
2013 England 3 - 1 Belgium
2012 England 4* - 3* Australia
2010 Netherlands 4 - 2 Wales

* England won the title on the sudden death doubles leg.

1 point allocated to a match win either singles or doubles